Falconry Teamwork in Hampshire

Buddy on handler Steve's gloved hand ready to fly

Buddy on handler Steve’s gloved hand ready to fly

Note how useful Lu's long, white tipped tail is for seeing him in deep cover

Note how useful Lu’s long, white tipped tail is for seeing him in deep cover

Buddy sampling his kill. An important part of hunting with birds of prey.

Buddy sampling his kill. An important part of hunting with birds of prey.

I was just sent these amazing photos and accompanying “Post Action Summary” by fb and Blog friend Helen Thomas reporting on her hunt this afternoon with her Spinone Lu and austringer friend, Steve Forrest and his Goshawk Buddy.

Readers of the BCS fb page will already be familiar with Helen’s fantastic pics of her HPRs working in the field. Reading Helen’s message I could easily see it all unfolding in my mind’s eye and the photos only confirmed my mental video images for me.

I hope you enjoy the photos and summary as much as I did.

I look forward to getting similar field reports from other readers. I thought all “fisherpersons” had a good yarn to tell about their best catches and even better stories about the big ones that got away!

Helen’s story:

Hi Gary.

I had a great afternoon out with my Spinone Lu and our hunting partners Steve Forrest and his Goshawk, Buddy.

The grounds are very wet at the moment so I have been over my wellies in water once again!

After a rather sparse half hour, Lu went on point in the long white grass. It was obvious that the bird was on the move and at one point we thought we had lost it.

He worked away, going back on himself. I was just about to call him back and bang – hard on point. We walked back to him and he was on a strong point into/over a ditch.

Asking Steve if he was ready, I sent Lu in. He leapt into the stream, putting a hen pheasant up. She flew straight up in the air as I was on one side and Steve with the goshawk on the other.

The goshawk was released and there was a fabulous flight resulting in a catch. It was truly fabulous to watch.

Rubbish picture of Lu pointing due to the cover, but you can see his tail can prove rather useful at times.”

Leave a Reply

